My Life as a Freelance Designer with 2-year-old twins

sylvie-theo-kiss-webI love knowing what people really do all day. Like, hour for hour. Everyone’s daily life has an air of mystery to me. One of my favorite questions in conversation is “what is a typical day like for you? The more details the better, please.” So here’s mine, at the moment. This is an update to my post last year about my life with 1-year-old twins. So many things have changed since then, but mostly just because their schedules have evolved. Let me tell you, the difference between two naps a day and one nap a day is a big deal for parents.

I’m surprised and happy to say that my business has actually grown this year. Through my partnerships with She Oms, adding some great clients like Ripley’s (yes, believe it or not!) and my long-term clients, I’ve had more work than I expected coming in. I do all of my work from my home office, which also houses a gigantic train table and a play kitchen.

This is what a typical day for me looks like:

8am Kids get up. One time-saver about having kids is no longer needing to set an alarm! I haven’t set one for exactly 2 years and 3 months. A few months ago, my kids stopped waking up before sunrise and started sleeping later. It’s a change that I’m very supportive of. I hang out with the kids while Kris makes breakfast, then we all eat together.
breakfast
9am-11:30am: My Mom comes over. Yep, she comes over for a few hours every weekday¬†and it’s super nice and a life changer for me. Depending on the day of the week, she may bring them out with her for an hour or so, stay home and play or we go to Gymboree. So most of the time, I get about an hour of work done in the morning.

11:30am: Lunch time.

12:30-3:30pm: Nap time. Ahhh, nap time. My kids are good little nappers, thank the heavens. Depending on what’s on my plate and how I feel — I work, watch tv, workout, take a nap, read, scroll Facebook, or whatever else I’m in the mood for.

3:30-5:00pm: The kids wake up. We normally play at home or in the backyard or walk down to our neighborhood playground. We stay close to home.
sylvie-and-i-at-park park

5pm: I start making dinner. This is usually tv time for the kids because they haaaate it when I’m cooking dinner. Hate, with a passion.

5:15pm: Kris gets home from work, yay!

5:30pm:¬†Dinner time. I’m still at the point where I find it a little funny that I eat dinner at 5:30. My pre-kid dinner time was usually 5 hours later than this.

6:30pm: Get the kids ready for bed.

7pm: Kids go to bed. Early bedtimes are a big plus in my book, it allows Kris and I to have time to unwind together. After the kids go to bed, we usually both find ourselves back on our computers for another hour or two. So a little more work time if I need some, or just reading articles and browsing around. After we’re done, we almost always watch a show or two and then we go to bed around 11pm.

So that’s my day. I can imagine you’re reading this and thinking “but she hardly works!”, “but she relaxes a lot!”, “but she has it so easy!”. I know, I know. It’s true. I honestly think my life is a good as it gets and I’d change nothing about it. I’m grateful every day. I don’t work a lot of hours. But when I do, I’m very efficient and get things done quickly. And I love my work, it’s seriously my dream job. I prioritize down time and relaxation. I don’t feel too busy, I feel just right. I have a feeling I’ll look back on these years as the best years of my life.

2 thoughts on “My Life as a Freelance Designer with 2-year-old twins

  1. I enjoyed this behind the scenes peek at life with twins as a Designer. I’m always looking for ways to be more productive. I seem to get more done if I start my day early. I also love the bullet journal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *